Happy Father’s Day!

Potential Father's Day gift
Potential Father's Day gift
Happy Father’s Day everybody!  Today is all about Dad so fire up the grill and celebrate the person that gave you 50% of your DNA.  Today trillions upon trillions of families will get together in varying levels of awkwardness to celebrate Dad in all his glory.  First and foremost-let Dad do the grilling. Everyone knows that men + fire + meat = crazy good times so don’t even try to suggest that you can flip the burgers. That’s Dad’s job and no one can grill a burger quite the way he can. 
 
Let Dad revel in his Dadness.  If he wants to talk about the time that he caught you smoking pot in your bedroom when you were 13 and how you got so scared that you started crying like a little girl because you were so stoned and maybe you even peed your pants a little, then let him.   This is what family get togethers are all about-public humiliation with the people that know you best! 
 
What did you get Dad this year?  Did you get him a power tool? Dad’s love getting power tools from what I see on the TV.  They also apparently like to receive electronics so maybe you got him the new iPod or a new HD converter box?  Nothing says “I love you” than a gift that plugs into the wall in my opinion.  Are you more traditional?  Then you got him a snazzy new tie he can wear to the office tomorrow and proudly exclaim that yep, this is from his kids for Father’s Day.  Are you a hipster? Is your Dad a hipster?  If so then I’m sure you went with a World’s Best Dad t-shirt and/or coffee mug?  (It’s all about the irony!)  The options are endless! 
 
Whatever you do I’m sure it will be painful loads of fun!  Let me know how it goes!  I’ll be at my place watching Full House all day cause Danny Tanner is the best Dad I never had.  Love you, Danny!
2 thoughts on “Happy Father’s Day!

  1. My dad emailed me this morning and said something to the effect of, “We’re going to be out of town all day so don’t bother coming home. I know you’re super busy so I’m sure you won’t be disappointed.”

    Now I get to sit around watching Hulu and eating peanut butter straight from the jar all day. My life is awesome. D:

  2. Coheed is one of my faves. Can’t believe he is cheating on my blog with yours.

    I started a book based on the fact that, growing up, I fantasized that Kenny Rogers was my real dad and would come back to claim me, someday. I mean, I HAD a dad, I just wanted to have not been sired by him. He was so uncool.

Leave a Reply

