It’s a Wild World

Whoa…LOTS has happened in the world over the last few weeks, the Barista is just now learning.  Spoiler alert – most of what I’m about to tell you is months old news.  Stop reading now if you aren’t quite through with May 2009.  Yours truly has been so busy drinking at engagement parties, bridal showers, Special TLW Divorce Day/Michael Jackson’s wake, stock the bar(or empty one) parties, bachelorette soirees, wedding receptions, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Fridays, Saturdays, birthday bashes…well, you get the idea.  If you, dear reader, are between the ages of 24-67, you have probably had a similar summer thus far.

Anywho, I’m trapped in a hotel in Raleigh having zero fun today.  Honestly, Raleigh, get it together.  Stop building cookie-cutter shopping centers.  Doesn’t your city have any codes that regulate the number of Best Buy stores per square mile?    Best Buy faces Best Buy with a Best Buy on the corner.  Best Buy rocks, yeah says Raleigh!  But I digress.  So I’m in this lame hotel with nothing, I repeat, nothing to do.  So I watch television.  Eventually I fire up the laptop.  And I’m about to blow your mind with what I’ve learned. 

Dating in the Dark = my new favorite show that I’ll probably never see again.  This could be season 5 for all I know. It’s super awesome.  People date in a pitch black room and then after they hook up and roll around on the floor in olive oil together, they get to see each other.  Then the girl goes outside and waits to see if the guy joins her, which he will do if he thinks she’s pretty.  You have three guess to tell me what happens next, and your first two guesses don’t count.  All of these people are morons but I heart them.

People are still talking about Michael Jackson’s death.  Like, on the news.  Can someone please explain this to me?  Just kidding, I don’t care.

There’s a show coming out called America’s Got Talent.  I think it’s similar to Britain’s Got Talent, but I can’t be sure.  Is this like the time a bunch of pilgrims left England, set up America and then did everything the British did but better?  Hello, sweet iced tea!  Who needs it bitter and hot anymore? Blimey, we love one-upping the Brits.

Sadness!  Frank McCourt died almost two weeks ago.  I learned of this on iTunes when I saw the ‘Remembering Frank McCourt’ banner.  The world loses a phenomenal talent, a modern literary master, and I learn of it on iTunes.  Tis a shame on me.

I suppose I’m almost caught up on my pop-culture, unless someone is going to tell me Angelina and Madonna married each other and adopted 19 more babies in the last few months.  On second thought, spare me if this happened. I won’t care about that either.

PS – I’m a Richmonder, Get Me Out of Raleigh!  Wouldn’t that make a great new reality series???  I’m so original, just like my Mom always says.

2 thoughts on “It’s a Wild World

  1. “I’m a Richmonder, Get Me Out of Raleigh!” Oh, my, that’d make a great quip in a story or film somewhere. Well, down there they used to teach the three “R’s” — Reading, Writing and the Road to Richmond. But that was before the Research Triangle and Charlotte bought our banks and now North Carolina thrifts own the lien on downtown Richmond. Still, your point is well taken. Poormouth our town as often is done, I’d take us over Raleigh’s sameness any day.

Leave a Reply

