Man in Motion

StElmocastI spent the last few days in a town that can only be described as a very close cousin of Oakland or Compton.  Like maybe the kind of cousin that happens when Mommy steps out on Daddy with Uncle Buck.  It’s the kind of city that I’m sure boasts any number of quaint little coffee shops and flower markets, though I decided not to see these lest I catch one of those pesky stray bullets meant for someone else. 

Anywho, I was super excited to drive into work in pretty-pretty-RVA this morning.  So excited, that I rocked out to Man in Motion and imagined giving everyone high-fives all day (I’m imagining giving you a high-five right now for reading Cafe Darkness).  In addition to just being an all around awesome song, it is also the theme of St. Elmo’s Fire; the famous brat pack movie about a bunch of post-grads trying to make their way in this crazy world while simultaneously figuring out how to say adios to their youth and foolish dreams. 

I immediately recognized the parallels between the lives of those characters and my friends!  I mean – who doesn’t?  For example, I know that when my friends who have shacked up together for a few years head to splitsville, one of them is totally going to move right on in with another one of our close friends before breaking that guy’s heart too.  It’s to be expected!

And doesn’t everyone have friends who like to rip a bunch of lines and call you up to tell you outrageous lies that manage to be both racist and conceited?  I don’t judge those friends.  Sometimes life is just too good and people have to invent problems.  What else would we have to fret about if we didn’t suspect those damn Arabs of trying to fit into our skinny jeans?  

And hahaha, of course everyone has had to break into a friend’s apartment with a blow torch, at least once if not more often!  You know you really have a BFF for life when you two can get into a fist fight that almost kills one of you and make up all while pulling off the aforementioned breaking and entering mission.  At least, that’s how I knew it was time to purchase the special heart necklace and give one half to TLW.

This was fun.  I could keep drawing comparisons all day if I had ever actually seen the movie.  But I have to soldier on now – only I can do what must be done!

Leave a Reply

