National Boss’s Day

Best Fictional Boss
Best Fictional Boss

October 16 is National Boss’s Day  It’s a day where employees can kiss-ass worship express their gratitude to the Boss Man for being kind and fair and just.  Our bosses have molded us into the men and women we are today.  Professionally speaking, at least.  I don’t want to know if your boss has ever molded you personally, but there are hotlines and government agencies you can call for that kind of thing.

I like my new boss, very much.  Today is as good a day as any other to be nice to her.  But Cafe Darkness takes issue with this holiday, natch.  Aside from the woes of a craptacular recession that has left many of our friends unemployed, or broke as hell, this holiday reinforces a concept we loathe:  the idea that a parent-child relationship exists between managers and uh, subordinates.  (Sidebar – Have you ever been called a subordinate and squawked like a monkey?  Oh,yeah, me neither)

So I’ve done some research (my extensive research) and discovered that National Boss’s Day was in fact, started by a woman who worked for her father!  This was her way of making up for the fact that she missed his birthday.  Three cheers for you Patricia Haroski!  May I call you Patty?  How about Trish, or Tricia, or Asshole?  

Now you, dear reader, know who to thank for all those gifts you receive today.  Thanks Trish – I needed a new bag of votive candles!  Conversely, you know who to blame  for the awkward conversations you may have when you choose to ignore the “holiday” for your boss.   Uh, happy Boss’s Day. I hope you can see past the email I where I accidentally copied you and called you Ms. Piggy. 

Will you be sending a thank you card to Ms. Haroski this year?

Leave a Reply

